Hindsight

Ten Months In WonderlandMy mother tells the story of me as a little boy, where once she cleaned our bedroom while my brothers, sister and I were at school. She had cleaned our room, which I shared with my two brothers, many times before and got no reaction from any of us. “This one time, though,” she explains to anyone who might listen, “Terry rushed into the living room mad as hell.” I laugh every time I hear her tell the story, because it offers up that age-old ability to predict the future—hindsight. She goes on with the story: “When I asked him what was wrong he said, ‘Mom, you put my red pencil where my blue pencil belongs and my blue pencil where my yellow pencil belongs.’” She laughs then, every time she tells the story. And, whenever I hear the story, I laugh too. I don’t know how true any of it is anymore, but her story expresses how she saw, long before I would take on the task seriously, that I would someday be a writer. It didn’t happen that quickly, but over a lot of years and trials with other professions, and college for another profession, and jobs I didn’t like, and all the rest of life’s crazy twists and turns before I sat down one day and assessed what I’d done up to that point in my life. What I found were several dozen poems, a few songs, and short stories that were still un-typed in my journals that lay around my house. I recalled waking with ideas for books, for movies, for articles. And, eventually, I realized that the one thing I always went back to was writing. But that knowledge wasn’t the end of it for me. The truth was that I loved to read—I’m a very eclectic reader—and study how writers create emotion, excitement, even pain through nothing but words. I like research in general, and am fascinated by new discoveries and how things are made. I find that there is no end to what you can learn, and consequently, what you can write about. And, I had been writing for as long as I can remember. I remember looking back through my past and seeing the path open clearly. Hindsight showed me what I had been doing all those years, naturally, and without even noticing it. I had been writing. That’s why it’s so funny to me when Mom tells the story about my pencils being in the wrong order. I can imagine it now. In fact, I can’t imagine my life being about anything but writing anymore. I write because that’s an integral part of who I am, and has always been an integral part whether I noticed or not. So, I urge everyone reading this to look back over your life and uncover your path, find those things that you’ve been doing your whole life and maybe you’ll find a career. Maybe you’ll find out who you’ve been all this time.

Ten Months In Wonderland

Terry Persun is an award winning author and a #1 Amazon bestseller. He is also a Pushcart nominee. His mainstream novel, “Wolf’s Rite”, was a Star of Washington award winner, a POW! Award winner, and a ForeWord magazine Book of the Year finalist. His science fiction novel, “Cathedral of Dreams”, was also a ForeWord magazine Book of the Year finalists. And his historical novel, “Sweet Song”, won a Silver IPPY Award for best regional fiction. His latest novel, “Doublesight”, is book one of his new fantasy series. His latest poetry collection is “And Now This”. Terry writes in many genres, including historical fiction, mainstream, literary, and science fiction/fantasy.

Site: http://www.TerryPersun.wix.com/terrypersun

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TerryPersun?ref=tn_tnmn

Twitter: https://twitter.com/tpersun

LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=3196367&trk=tab_pro

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/terrypersun/boards/

1 Comment

Filed under Inspirational, Terry Persun

One response to “Hindsight

  1. What a perfect way of expressing your passion for writing. Well done.

Leave a Reply

