Sunrise

Ten Months In WonderlandAlthough sunrise is often beautiful where I live, many days I don’t see it at all even though I’m up before sunrise every day. I work through sunrise, unless I’m taking a short break to get a second cup of coffee, in which case I might stop and look into the sky from my courtyard. But I don’t stop for long, because I’m usually hot into the writing of my next novel, short story, or poem. And that is inspiration enough.

Sunrise is a warming of the light coming through the window, for me. It’s a softening of the shadows, the easing into the day. And when midmorning comes, I look back on sunrise fondly whether I’ve seen the colors in the sky or not, whether I’ve seen the sun actually rise or not. I feel the inspiration of a new day with the writings that come through me. I feel more connected to the world when I’m part of it and not just looking at it.

Don’t get me wrong, I am inspired by sunrise and sunset. I’m inspired by traffic and buildings, too, and seeing the trail of water vapor from the wings of a jet flying overhead. The point is, when I work on something creative in the morning before I do anything else during the day, I am at peace with myself, and that peace carries me inspirationally through the remainder of the day.

I often tell my friends that if you do something you love to do, first thing in the morning, then there’s nothing that can bother you for the rest of the day. You did your work. You produced something from nothing, and there is nothing better than that.

I go from my latest writing project into the shower and then back to my day job of freelance writing where I’m interviewing or promoting or pitching projects. It’s lively and not always easy, as any freelancer knows. But, I’ve already written my quota for the day, so a slowdown or a rude person on the phone just rolls off my back.

And if I do find that I’m getting upset about anything that’s happening, I think of my morning writing, how the light changed effortlessly, and how calmly and perfectly the world works when I’m not purposefully engaged in trying to force it.

Ten Months In WonderlandTerry Persun is an award winning author and a #1 Amazon bestseller. He is also a Pushcart nominee. His mainstream novel, “Wolf’s Rite”, was a Star of Washington award winner, a POW! Award winner, and a ForeWord magazine Book of the Year finalist. His science fiction novel, “Cathedral of Dreams”, was also a ForeWord magazine Book of the Year finalists. And his historical novel, “Sweet Song”, won a Silver IPPY Award for best regional fiction. His latest novel, “Doublesight”, is book one of his new fantasy series. His latest poetry collection is “And Now This”. Terry writes in many genres, including historical fiction, mainstream, literary, and science fiction/fantasy.

Site: http://www.TerryPersun.wix.com/terrypersun

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TerryPersun?ref=tn_tnmn

Twitter: https://twitter.com/tpersun

LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/profile/view?id=3196367&trk=tab_pro

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/terrypersun/boards/

1 Comment

Filed under Inspirational, Terry Persun, Writing & Editing

One response to “Sunrise

  1. Pingback: Award-winning Author, Terry Persun | Susan Wingate

Leave a Reply

