Friends and Relatives

Ten Months In WonderlandOne of my friends sells insurance, one edits for a magazine, and another is a policeman. All my friends have jobs. My relatives, too, they’re engineers, marketing people, software experts, salesmen.

 

So far as I know, none of them work for free.

 

I write for a living, and it amazes me how many people ask if I could write a news release for them. Others wait until my novels go up for a free promotional sale, and download it then. After that, they might loan their ebook copy to their friends instead of recommending that their friend buys a copy for themselves.

 

I wonder why this is, but then realize how often writers are willing to give their work away. I know I am willing to do that more often than I probably should.

 

Lately though, instead of asking if they might give me free insurance, put together a free website, or fix my car for free – all of which are things I’d like to suggest – I tell them what a good friend (and another writer) once told me: “Even though your family might expect free copies of your books, your true friends will always buy copies and recommend that others buy copies as well.”

 

When I spend upward of six months writing and rewriting, even at a few hours a day, my readers (friends, family, or strangers) are getting my 300 plus-plus hours of time and work for somewhere around $15. Even if they’re fast readers and enjoy the book for only two hours, it’s worth more than the $15 they paid for it. (Not that none of my other working friends or family would even take a job for $15 an hour, let alone $15 for 300 hours.) Anyhow, that’s somewhere around a nickel an hour. My time is worth that. My creativity is worth much more than that.

 

I know that most of you reading this are writers, and I’m just trying to say that what we do has value – more than what we might know. One person who says, “Your book made a difference in my life,” means a lot. Our hard work can change lives, and we shouldn’t give it away so easily. That’s not good for any of us.

 

Saying all this, you’ve got to know that I’ll never stop giving books away in hopes of gaining a wider audience. But I will watch to see who my true friends are.

Ten Months In WonderlandTerry Persun is an award winning author and a #1 Amazon bestseller. He is also a Pushcart nominee. His mainstream novel, “Wolf’s Rite”, was a Star of Washington award winner, a POW! Award winner, and a ForeWord magazine Book of the Year finalist. His science fiction novel, “Cathedral of Dreams”, was also a ForeWord magazine Book of the Year finalists. And his historical novel, “Sweet Song”, won a Silver IPPY Award for best regional fiction. His latest novel, “Doublesight”, is book one of his new fantasy series. His latest poetry collection is “And Now This”. Terry writes in many genres, including historical fiction, mainstream, literary, and science fiction/fantasy.

Site: http://www.TerryPersun.wix.com/terrypersun

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TerryPersun?ref=tn_tnmn

Twitter: https://twitter.com/tpersun

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/terrypersun/boards/

Leave a comment

Filed under Terry Persun, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

