From Fear to Expectation

Trust Your Life            Rereading The Power of Intention by spiritual teacher and author Wayne Dyer, I found re-inspiration from his directive derived from quantum physics: “at the tiniest subatomic level, the actual act of observing a particle changes the particle.” Therefore, he counsels, “Change the way you look at things, and the things you look at change” (p. 173).

Is this not astounding?

If the principle works when we observe a particle, think of how it can work on higher levels of matter, from particle to atom to molecule to cell to multicell to gazillioncell . . .  our bodies (about 100 trillion cells), our minds, our spirits.

I reflected that so much of what I (and you?) think about, almost take for granted as acceptable thoughts, are not. So I asked myself, As a writer, what do I (we) want a change of outlook to change? Just a few things . . .

* * * * * *

My Writing Process

Fear: A struggle, always squeezing it out, anxiety-ridden, agony.

Expectation: Effortless, fluid, a joy.

My Time and Energy

Fear: Never enough. Limited. Paltry part-time. My time will run out!

Expectation: Always plentiful. Daily, full-time. Ever-renewing. Overflowing!

My Ideas

Fear: Restricted, constricted. A finite number. I’ll run out!

Expectation: Never-ending. Unbounded. Ever-replenishing.

My Writing Drive, Motivation

Fear: Dragging. Must rev it up constantly. Depends on acceptances.

Expectation: Consistent, a hum. Steady, unflagging, always nurtured from my passion and love of writing.

Craft and Content Problems

Fear: Endless questions. Must push, reason, force. Continuous predicaments.

Expectation: Right answers. Trusting the process. Perfect resolutions.

My Partner

Fear: My enemy, unsupportive. Jealous of my writing and progress.

Expectation: My friend. Wholly supportive, cheers me on. Joyful for my successes. Gladly makes me endless

cups of coffee.

My Agent

Fear: I need him/her.

Expectation: He/She needs me.

My Editor

Fear: Only interested in sales. Unapproachable, adamant, fearsome.

Expectation: Interested in me, my writing, and sales. Human, reasonable, a pleasant professional friend.

My Publications

Fear: Hopeless, never. Constant uphill struggle. Sporadic at best. Gratis.

Expectation. Perfect places at the right times. Upward spiral to success. Regular, consistent. Well-paying,

sustaining.

My Purpose

Fear: Who knows? I keep asking. No answer.

Expectation: I listen. I am patient. It is revealed. I know. I follow. I obey. I rejoice.

* * * * * *

The fear viewpoint is generally accepted “reality.” But whose reality is it? A consensus of shortsighted, tunnel-visioned, herd-mentality consciousnesses? We tend to think, “If they [the pundits, the pols, the Fed, the academic accoladed] say so, believe it, cite stats to prove it, and repeat and repeat it . . . it must be so.” But remember the observer and observed: The observed changes with the observer. In other words, we see and experience what we believe.

Our customary unquestioning assumptive outlooks often come from family. They predicted and expected their dire outcomes and—lo!—achieved them. Their sad predictions took shape through many generations, made apparently “real” by each successive generation, public pronouncements, and “proved” assumptions, hardened like cement in the sun.

Let us graduate from this gloomy conditioning to childlike flowing expectation, excited and joyful. The dark ideas aren’t facts. As they took hold, so too can they be loosened and replaced by others. In The Science of Mind, Ernest Holmes says, “It is simply a question of sticking to an idea until it becomes a tangible reality. The illusion is in the way we look at things. We have looked at poverty, degradation, and misery until they have assumed gigantic proportions. Now we must look at harmony, happiness, plenty, prosperity, peace, and right action until they appear” (p. 109).

If reality changes with the observer, let us observe better scenarios, in every area of our lives, from material gains to perfect health to weight loss to relationship harmony to writing success.

Let us have the strength of mind and heart to look, declare, and expect past the proclaimed reality of the generations, the media, our mothers, and our friends. Of course, this strength takes practice and mental vigilance. But we can catch our doom-saying rut-habits like spots on the window and wipe them away the instant we see them.

Let us go from fear, doubt, and distrust to expectations of what we really desire. We deserve it all.

Trust Your LifeAuthor, editor, writing coach, and spiritual counselor, Noelle Sterne writes fiction and nonfiction, having published over 300 pieces in print and online venues, including Writer’s Digest, The Writer, ReadLearnWrite, Women on Writing, Transformation Magazine, 11.11, and Unity booklets. Her monthly column, “Bloom Where You’re Writing,” appears in Coffeehouse for Writers. With a Ph.D. from Columbia University, for over 28 years Noelle has helped doctoral candidates complete their dissertations (finally), with a practical-psychological-spiritual handbook in progress. In her book Trust Your Life: Forgive Yourself and Go After Your Dreams (Unity Books; one of ten best 2011 ebooks), she draws examples from her practice and other aspects of life to help writers and others release regrets, relabel their past, and reach their lifelong yearnings. With Trust Your Life, Noelle appears in the Unity Books 2013 “Summer of Self-Discovery.” Discussions appear on Goodreads: http://www.unity.org/publications/unity-books/summer-reading-series,  Her webinar on the book of June 26, 2013, can be heard and seen on YouTube: www.youtube.com/watch?V=95EeqllONIQ.

Site: http://trustyourlifenow.com/

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspirational, Noelle Sterne

Leave a Reply

