Science

The NSA FilesI’m pretty much a geek. I’ve been called worse during certain times of my life, but basically it comes down to this. I’ve always liked science, math, mechanical and electrical things. I never wanted to be a mechanic or electrician, but I loved the science behind it, and so I went to college for electronics. I got my degree and designed all sorts of devices…for industry, consumer products, and even for the military. At one time, I taught physics and electronics, too.

I also wrote on the side for all those years, mostly poetry, but a few short stories, and the beginnings of a novel or two. At a certain point, I realized that I enjoyed writing more than design work. But, I never lost my interest in science.

The engineers I hung out with then were no different than the writers I hang out with now—they’re all very creative people, often making something from nothing.

The creative act is a mystery. No matter what you create, no matter how you approach the creation. We are a creative species. For me, an interest in science feeds my creativity as much as an interest in writing. The two often work together whether I’m writing science fiction or literary fiction. The science behind good sentence structure is as interesting to me as the science behind an electronics circuit. That’s why I’m often particular about the way I put sentences together. There’s a specific sound that comes with writing well, and like an engine, sometimes I have to adjust it to make it purr, but if I pay close enough attention, it works.

And here’s the interesting part. What purrs for me, doesn’t particularly purr for someone else. We all have our likes and dislikes, our interests and our disinterests, if you will. But that’s what creativity is all about—letting the work come through you, whether it’s words or science.

Ten Months In WonderlandTerry Persun writes in many genres, including historical fiction, mainstream, literary, and science fiction/fantasy. He is a Pushcart nominee. His latest poetry collection is “And Now This”. His novels, “Wolf’s Rite” and “Cathedral of Dreams” were ForeWord magazine Book of the Year finalists in the science fiction category, and his novel “Sweet Song” won a Silver IPPY Award. His latest science fiction space opera is, “Hear No Evil”, his latest fantasy is “Doublesight”, his latest mainstream/literary novel is “Ten Months in Wonderland”.

Site: http://www.TerryPersun.wix.com/terrypersun

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TerryPersun?ref=tn_tnmn

Twitter: https://twitter.com/tpersun

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/terrypersun/boards/

Leave a comment

Filed under Terry Persun, Writing & Editing

Leave a Reply

