Writing Your Own Stories

The NSA FilesI’ll attempt to make this post short. It’s about writing and whether we write purely from creativity or not. As much as this subject can be debated—and I’ve taken several different positions on the subject myself over the years—I have an opinion that I continue to return to. The one that makes the most sense to me, I suppose.

As much as I believe that all writing comes from some unknown place, whether subconscious or super-conscious, it also comes “through” an individual. Even if I’m writing a main character completely opposite of who I am, that writing is filtered through me. My personality, my deep thoughts, my experiences.

Does this mean I’m always writing about me? Not at all. But it does mean that I can’t take me totally out of the equation. After all, the story is coming through my brain into my hands to the computer. Even if I believe that I’m merely a channel for God’s words, I’m still involved. I’m still in the room.

I think about these things all the time, and this is how I see it today. Try asking again next year.

Ten Months In WonderlandTerry Persun writes in many genres, including historical fiction, mainstream, literary, and science fiction/fantasy. He is a Pushcart nominee. His latest poetry collection is “And Now This”. His novels, “Wolf’s Rite” and “Cathedral of Dreams” were ForeWord magazine Book of the Year finalists in the science fiction category, and his novel “Sweet Song” won a Silver IPPY Award. His latest science fiction space opera is, “Hear No Evil”, his latest fantasy is “Doublesight”, his latest mainstream/literary novel is “Ten Months in Wonderland”.

Site: http://www.TerryPersun.wix.com/terrypersun

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TerryPersun?ref=tn_tnmn

Twitter: https://twitter.com/tpersun

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/terrypersun/boards/

Leave a comment

Filed under Terry Persun, Writing & Editing

Leave a Reply

