Thoughts on Meditation

The NSA FilesSince I was in my early 20s, I’ve meditated regularly. For years, I sat and meditated for at least an hour a day, sometimes repeating that several times a day. I have tried many types of meditations, so many that I don’t remember the names of most of them. Empty your mind meditations, guided meditations, drum journeys, conscious dreaming, so many of these things are similar in that they take you into an altered state. Some take you deeper than others, or into different realms, if I may suggest.

 

Meditation is like dreaming, both daydreams and night dreams, like spacing out, as it’s called. It’s like going into the zone, whether hiking, running, playing music, painting, or writing. Meditation has a lot of sides to it, and I’ve read about, researched, and tried many of them. Shamanism is a form of meditation in many ways. And, like several of the other forms of meditation, a shamanic state can take you places you cannot go when fully conscious.

 

Walking between two worlds insinuates that you can be in the conscious, practical world at the same time you operate in an altered state. You balance between the two. You shift back and forth depending on what’s happening and where you want your next move to originate from.

 

I think we all travel this route whether we have meditated for years or not. I don’t think we can get away from living in two places at once. Our creative minds are always working, always pushing us in one direction or another, whether you call it a gut feeling, a hunch, or a gift from your higher self—or the word of God for that matter.

 

And, since we live in both worlds, I’d like to suggest that we attempt to try to balance our time between the two (or three or four) worlds, that we try to allow things to happen, step into an altered state to see the meanings behind our lives, and allow all aspects of ourselves to find their ways forward.

 

That’s what I try to do every day. I alter my language between we and I because I believe that we are all in this together, we all have the opportunity to know more, understand more, and to be guided by a higher source whatever we call it. I personally find that meditation helps me stay in touch with that other source. And no matter what type of meditation I perform, I feel closer to who I really am, and who I can be.

Ten Months In WonderlandTerry Persun writes in many genres, including historical fiction, mainstream, literary, and science fiction/fantasy. He is a Pushcart nominee. His latest poetry collection is “And Now This”. His novels, “Wolf’s Rite” and “Cathedral of Dreams” were ForeWord magazine Book of the Year finalists in the science fiction category, and his novel “Sweet Song” won a Silver IPPY Award. His latest science fiction space opera is, “Hear No Evil”, his latest fantasy is “Doublesight”, his latest mainstream/literary novel is “Ten Months in Wonderland”.

Site: http://www.TerryPersun.wix.com/terrypersun

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TerryPersun?ref=tn_tnmn

Twitter: https://twitter.com/tpersun

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/terrypersun/boards/

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspirational, Self Help, Terry Persun

Leave a Reply

