Writing that Series

The NSA FilesI love to write, primarily because I’m interested in a lot of things. I get to write about motors, prototyping, aircraft, medical devices, and on for most industries. I also write poems, short stories, and novels.

 

Often asked by friends why I don’t work on a series of novels, I used to say it was because I like to explore new things. A series would mean I couldn’t do that so readily. But, really, I was talking about exploring different people. I thought, or feared, that writing a series would bore me, that I’d get tired of writing about the same cast of characters.

 

That was the case until I wrote my second “Doublesight” novel, and then my second novel using the same characters as “Revision 7:DNA”. For both of these I found that I hadn’t fully developed the characters as far as I’d like. I’m finding that feeling with other novels I’ve written, too. If the characters don’t all die at the end, of course their lives go on. Why didn’t I see that before?

 

For “Doublesight” I’ve already written number two and three, and have ideas for two more novels with another set of characters, but in the same world. Another reason to write a series of novels—because the world they live in is interesting enough to develop more.

 

As for “Revision 7:DNA”, the second book has already come out. Titled “Backyard Aliens”, the novel explores the relationship between my two main characters on a deeper level. They’re married, so there are a lot of places to go with their relationship. At the same time, as I get to know these characters, I find that they have loves and fears outside the ones explored in the first novel. I can understand them better. Perhaps I had to wait until this time in my life to fully see how interesting that could be.

 

I’ve started to look at more of my books as series material. As long as I am passionate about the story, and still find my characters intriguing, there’s hope for a series. And if that’s not the case at the moment, then perhaps all I have to do is wait a few years and go back over the material.

 

If you’ve already written a series you probably wonder about my logic. Or you may understand exactly what I’m talking about. There are many ways to look at writing a series. You can start out with a series idea or, like me, fall into it by accident. I may try the previous method next time. Although, I’m not sure what will ultimately work best for me, I’m willing to find out.

Ten Months In WonderlandTerry Persun writes in many genres, including historical fiction, mainstream, literary, and science fiction/fantasy. He is a Pushcart nominee. His latest poetry collection is “And Now This”. His novels, “Wolf’s Rite” and “Cathedral of Dreams” were ForeWord magazine Book of the Year finalists in the science fiction category, and his novel “Sweet Song” won a Silver IPPY Award. His latest science fiction space opera is, “Hear No Evil”, his latest fantasy is “Doublesight”, his latest mainstream/literary novel is “Ten Months in Wonderland”.

Site: http://www.TerryPersun.wix.com/terrypersun

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TerryPersun?ref=tn_tnmn

Twitter: https://twitter.com/tpersun

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/terrypersun/boards/

Leave a comment

Filed under Terry Persun, Writing & Editing

Leave a Reply

