Following Through

The NSA FilesI look at life as a series of follow-throughs. Ever since birth, I’ve had an interest in doing the next thing and the next. I’ve seen so many people stop because “everything seems so difficult”, yet for me it’s just the next thing to do. Doing nothing is as difficult as doing something. Both are valuable, and both need to be honored.

 

Along these lines, we promise ourselves that we’ll do things (our bucket lists), and we promise others the same. The primary reason I see these things not completed is the lack of follow-through. How long does it take to make that phone call? How much does it really cost to take that class? If nothing else, read a book on the subject, try things out slowly, working your way up to say, jumping from an airplane.

 

When I tell someone I’m going to do something, I know I’m going to follow through with it. It’s how I’ve created my belief system. I know that if I don’t follow through that it won’t get done. I’ll carry the baggage of non-completion with me everywhere. Maybe I’ll feel guilty. Whatever it was, will haunt me. It will give me a reason to avoid someone, which takes more energy (and is less rewarding) as addressing them. It separates me from my plan of my own life.

 

If I can refuse to follow through on my promise to others, then perhaps I can do the same with myself. I don’t like that idea at all. Life is important. The older I get, the more I recognize that now is the time to take the next step, to write that novel, jump out of that plane, climb that tree, or make that pottery. We must live our lives as though we mean it, as though life is meaningful. I can’t think of any better way than to follow through for yourself as well as others.

Ten Months In WonderlandTerry Persun writes in many genres, including historical fiction, mainstream, literary, and science fiction/fantasy. He is a Pushcart nominee. His latest poetry collection is “And Now This”. His novels, “Wolf’s Rite” and “Cathedral of Dreams” were ForeWord magazine Book of the Year finalists in the science fiction category, and his novel “Sweet Song” won a Silver IPPY Award. His latest science fiction space opera is, “Hear No Evil”, his latest fantasy is “Doublesight”, his latest mainstream/literary novel is “Ten Months in Wonderland”.

Site: http://www.TerryPersun.wix.com/terrypersun

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TerryPersun?ref=tn_tnmn

Twitter: https://twitter.com/tpersun

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/terrypersun/boards/

Leave a comment

Filed under Self Help, Terry Persun

Leave a Reply

