Getting Lost

The NSA FilesI like to prepare before I go on a trip, because I like to be on time. It’s a respect thing. I respect other people’s time as much as my own. But that’s not the only reason. I don’t like to get nervous or worry about arriving. I don’t want to be in a hurry, so I prepare so that I can arrive early in most cases. But that’s not the only reason either. Ultimately, I like to read. If I’m early, then I have a few minutes to wait, and I can read during that time.

 

I know dental and doctor offices make you wait, and I’m still there early. Not because I think they’ll change their ways, but because I get to read that much longer. And so, after all these years, I find that I actually like to read in waiting rooms. Recently, I read while my daughter was at the dentist’s office. It was wonderful. Reading isn’t just a pastime for me, of course. As a writer, reading is also study, and I can study anywhere. I love learning new things, which includes how to get a reader excited, angry, upset, sad, or euphoric.

 

Having said all that, I don’t mind getting lost, either – but only when I have nowhere particular to be or if I have plenty of time between appointments. Then, getting lost only means that I get off the beaten track. I see things I wouldn’t normally see, and often experience things I wouldn’t normally experience. A friend and mentor of mine, Robert Moss, says that when your plans are changed, listen closely, because that’s when the universe is speaking.

 

Living in this way is satisfying to me. I get to explore, be on time, and learn throughout my days. I’ve always loved learning, so this has been a great life for my.

Ten Months In WonderlandTerry Persun writes in many genres, including historical fiction, mainstream, literary, and science fiction/fantasy. He is a Pushcart nominee. His latest poetry collection is “And Now This”. His novels, “Wolf’s Rite” and “Cathedral of Dreams” were ForeWord magazine Book of the Year finalists in the science fiction category, and his novel “Sweet Song” won a Silver IPPY Award. His latest science fiction space opera is, “Hear No Evil”, his latest fantasy is “Doublesight”, his latest mainstream/literary novel is “Ten Months in Wonderland”.

Site: http://www.TerryPersun.wix.com/terrypersun

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TerryPersun?ref=tn_tnmn

Twitter: https://twitter.com/tpersun

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/terrypersun/boards/

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspirational, Terry Persun, Writing & Editing

Leave a Reply

